1982 Mr. Olympia - Winner Chris Dickerson

After the boycott in 1981, Frank Zane and Boyer Coe decided to come back to the Olympia competition, but Mike Mentzer was not part of it. Held in October 198 at the Wembley Conference Centre in London, England - this was another year when the contest went outside US borders.

There were even 16 bodybuilders competing for the 1982 Mr. Olympia, a title that was seen as very prestigious especially after so many controversies and so many battles on the legendary stage of Mr. Olympia. While Frank Zane was once again in the focus because of his return, Franco Columbu did not compete and was actively filming the movie Conan The Barbarian.

Related - The Complete History of Bodybuilding

One of the most favored bodybuilders at this event was Tom Platz. However, Platz tore his right bicep 6 weeks prior to the competition and competed after repairing it with surgery. Still, that was not the same and the difference was obvious. This led to Chris Dickerson securing the 1982 Mr. Olympia first place result and getting the title as well as the $50,000 cash reward.

Frank Zane was second to Dickerson, followed by Casey Viator, Samir Bannout, Albert Beckles, Tom Platz and many other rising stars and experienced bodybuilders. 1982 was a year when bodybuilding was becoming more and more popular and officially recognized as a sport everywhere. A lot of this had to do with Schwarzenegger becoming a superstar at the time, as well as many other bodybuilders who mimicked his steps on the big screen.


1982 Mr. Olympia Results
Placing Competitor Prize
 1  Chris Dickerson  $25,000
 2  Frank Zane  
 3  Casey Viator  
 4  Samir Bannout  
 5  Albert Beckles  
 6  Tom Platz  
 7  Mohamed Makkawy  
 8  Bertil Fox  
 9  Jonny Fuller  
 10  Jusup Wilkosz  
 11  Boyer Coe  
 12  Danny Padilla  
 13  Jacques Nueville  
 14  Dennis Tinerino  
 15  Lance Dreher  
 16  Roger Walker  
Previous article 10 Top 1980s Bodybuilders - Then and Now


Rick Bannaghan - May 19, 2020

For me Samir Bannout should have won, viator 2nd, makkawy 3rd,zane 4th, Fuller 5th dickerson 6th

jeff gray - January 11, 2019

didn’t know dickerson got an olympia.

Jennifer Mitchell - January 11, 2019

I think Frank should have gotten the win!

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields