1977 Mr. Olympia - Winner Frank Zane

The thirteenth edition of the legendary Olympia contest was once again held at the Veterans Memorial Auditorium in Columbus, Ohio. The popularity spiked this year, making the 1977 Mr. Olympia more visited than ever before. The prize money was also taken to a new all-time high, with $13,000 given to the winner of this contest.

Again, there were two main categories for participants over 200lbs and under 200lbs accordingly. In the first category at the 1977 Mr. Olympia (Over 200lbs), the list included Robby Robinson, Ken Waller, Dennis Tinerino and Roger Walker. The 'Under 200lbs' category included Frank Zane, Ed Corney, Boyer Coe, Albert Beckles and Bill Grant.

Related - The Complete History of Bodybuilding

As you can see from the lists, there were nine competitors at the 1977 Mr. Olympia which made this contest pretty lengthy and a lot more difficult for the judges. However, it also made the event far more entertaining compared to other years.

As every competitor was flexing, the battle was getting more and more intense. From Ed Corney to Franco. The main battle was between Frank Zane and Robby Robinson. Even though they were in different categories, seeing who will take the 1977 Mr. Olympia title was very entertaining to the guests at the show.

Frank Zane was crowned both a winner in his category and the overall 1977 Mr. Olympia winner, while Robby Robinson took the title only in his category. Even though their hands were both lifted in the air by the main judge, Frank Zane was the crowned winner who took the $13,000 prize money for the competition.

This was the first Mr. Olympia title for Frank Zane, and the beginning of a new era in bodybuilding making him one of the biggest icons in the sport and a role model to many. With this, Frank Zane proved everyone that the Olympia winner doesn't have to be the biggest competitor out there - but one who is in the best form. At the time, Zane was a known as the perfect example for a chiseled physique that makes every muscle visible, and this title proved that.


1977 Mr. Olympia Results
Placing Competitor Prize
 Over 200lbs    
 1  Robby Robinson  
 2  Ken Waller  
 1  Dennis Tinerino  
 2  Roger Walker  
 Under 200lbs    
 1  Frank Zane  
 2  Ed Corney  
 3  Boyer Coe  
 4  Albert Beckles  
 5  Bill Grant  
 1  Frank Zane  
 2  Robby Robinson  
 3  Ed Corney  
 4  Boyer Coe  
 5  Ken Waller  
 6  Dennis Tinerino  
 7  Albert Beckles  
 8  Bill Grant  
Previous article 10 Top 1980s Bodybuilders - Then and Now


Brennen Pacheco - January 11, 2019

Absolutly the best!

Brennen Pacheco - January 11, 2019

Absolutely, definetly the best symmetry of anyone else

John Hennessy - January 11, 2019

In my opinion, Frank Zane had the most appealing physique of all time. The prime example of a true classic physique!

Brennen Pacheco - January 11, 2019

One of my all time favorites. He placed huge emphasis on symmetry

Brennen Pacheco - January 11, 2019

Agree 100%

jeff gray - January 11, 2019

Frank Zane one of the most pleasing physiques.

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields